## ONIROS FILM AWARDS

## FINALISTS & WINNERS - JULY 2023

FINALISTS & WINNERS - JULY 2023		
BEST FEATURE FILM	BEST SHORT FILM	
When First We Practice To Deceive Director Glenn Roberson (WINNER) High Hopes Director Dennis Cabrini The Time Before Director Charles Liu	Whatever it takes Director David Newman (WINNER)  Watch The Kid Director Rob Legacy  Yesterday Director Geena Tiller  The Winners takes it all Director Andrea Henry  My sex crazed family Director Darius Dior	
BEST UNDER 5 MINUTE FILM	BEST INDIE FEATURE	
Attempt Director Jose Emilio Borrero (WINNER) All The Smoke Director Delasia Vanterpool Grey Area Director Jiaying Zhang	<b>The Veteran Director Antonio Bernard Jefferson (WINNER)</b> The Time Before Director Charles Liu	
BEST INDIE SHORT	BEST SERIES PILOT	
Welcome To The Neighborhood Director Jason Lee Segal (WINNER) Gazing at the stars Director Richard Chen Whatever it takes Director David Newman The Season of the Witch Director Arthur Phillips The Winners takes it all Director Andrea Henry Lost and Found Director Ray Wu	<b>The Johnny &amp; Nico Show Director Brett Newton (WINNER)</b> Fires and Smokes Director Jordan Sun My sex crazed family Director Darius Dio <b>r</b>	
BEST ANIMATION	BEST DOCUMENTARY FEATURE	
Sword and Sorrow Directors Emad Rahmani, Mehrdad Mehrabi (WINNER) The Front Line Director Taekyu Kwon Mr Nullus from Nusquam2 Director Chenjia Ren	Technologies of the Soul: Ancient Wisdom in the Smart Nation Director Ian McGonigle (WINNER) Once Upon a Time in Jinan: Some Ordinary People Director Qing Li Manufacturing Madness Directors Gary Null, Valerie Van Cleve Sonja Director Sanela Prašović – Gadžo Leaving California: The Untold Story Director Mathias Magnason	
BEST DOCUMENTARY SHORT	BEST STUDENT FILM	
Foot Moon Director Vincent Romain (WINNER)  5 Ways to live before you die Director Julio Mendez  Gazing at the stars Director Richard Chen	Taking Initiative Director Mikayluh Bowers (WINNER)  Silence is Betrayal Director Ayanna Barnes  Bear Hugs Director Maggie May Brummer  The Egg Director Zilan Lin	

Luchando En Minoría Director Jaume Duran Castells

The To-DoN'T List Director David J Porras

**Grey Area Director Jiaying Zhang** 

BEST SILENT FILM	BEST EXPERIMENTAL FILM
<b>Julia Director Víctor Muñoz (WINNER)</b> Yesterday Director Geena Tiller	Prana Directors Thomas Blanchard, Sébastien Guérive (WINNER) The Season of the Witch Director Arthur Phillips
BEST MUSIC VIDEO	BEST COMMERCIAL
Bench Seat Director Kaiser Phillip Cunningham III (WINNER) Empaths & Apples Director Kelli Reilly Lift Me Up Directors Catriona Rubenis-Stevens, Day Al-Mohamed	UnDuzIt Directors Dustin James Leighton, Reuben Hawkins (WINNER)
BEST COMEDY FILM	BEST ACTION FILM
My sex crazed family Director Darius Dior (WINNER) I Saw Mommy Kissing Santa Claus Director Chris Mastrocola	All The Smoke Director Delasia Vanterpool (WINNER) Attempt Director Jose Emilio Borrero
BEST THRILLER FILM	BEST HORROR FILM
When First We Practice To Deceive Director Glenn Roberson (WINNER) The Traveler Director Conner Nikides	Brulefer Director Martín De La Cruz (WINNER) The Season of the Witch Director Arthur Phillips
BEST DRAMA FILM	BEST WAR FILM
<b>Souvenir Director Conner James Nikides (WINNER)</b> A Runaway Boy Directors Reo Takahashi, Daishi Nezu	<b>Sonja Director Sanela Prašović – Gadžo (WINNER)</b> Fires and Smokes Director Jordan Sun
BEST WESTERN FILM	BEST ROMANCE FILM
Gammons' Greed Directors Ryan Riffie, Richard Riffie (WINNER)	Fires and Smokes Director Jordan Sun (WINNER) Fallen: The Search of A Broken Angel Director Alex Kruz
BEST MUSICAL FILM	BEST PARODY FILM
Hymn & Her Director Adam Nightingale (WINNER)	The To-DoN'T List Director David J Porras (WINNER)

BEST BIOGRAPHICAL FILM	BEST INSPIRATIONAL FILM
Running Shoes Are Cheaper Than Insulin: An Interview With Tony Reed Director Anthony Renard Reed (WINNER) The Time Before Director Charles Liu	<b>Meera Director Dilip Harnarayan Dixit (WINNER)</b> The Time Before Director Charles Liu
BEST SPORT FILM	BEST 1ST TIME DIRECTOR
<b>Granite Jaw Director Conner Nikides (WINNER)</b> Running Shoes Are Cheaper Than Insulin: An Interview With Tony Reed Director Anthony Renard Reed	Gotaways Director Charlotte Cuthbertson (WINNER - Feature) Another Day Director Théophile Mur (WINNER - Short) When First We Practice To Deceive Director Glenn Roberson Yesterday Director Geena Tiller The Season of the Witch Director Arthur Phillips The Winners takes it all Director Andrea Henry
BEST STUDENT DIRECTOR	BEST ACTOR
Lost and Found Director Ray Wu (WINNER) "Her" and Future Hometown Director Kaiqing Yang Yesterday Director Geena Tiller The Winners takes it all Director Andrea Henry	(James Roseman) When First We Practice To Deceive Director Glenn Roberson (WINNER) (James Curtis) Whatever it takes Director David Newman
BEST ACTRESS	BEST SUPPORTING ACTOR
(Aubrey Rogers) When First We Practice To Deceive Director Glenn Roberson (WINNER)  (Jessica Rose) Whatever it takes Director David Newman	(Kostis Rampavilas) Support Group Olympus Director Jimmy Francis (WINNER)
BEST ACTING DUO	BESTO CHILD ACTOR
(Lena Blom Sørlie, Harald Sørlie) How to See a Kite Director Harald Sørlie (WINNER) (James Curtis, Jessica Rose) Whatever it takes Director David Newman (Victor Olusina, McFredy Antoine) The Johnny & Nico Show Director Brett Newton	(Bakari Blocton) The Johnny & Nico Show Director Brett Newton (WINNER)
BEST CINEMATOGRAPHY	BEST SOUNDTRACK
(Dustin James Leighton) Believe A Buddy Director Dustin James Leighton (WINNER) Whatever it takes Director David Newman	(Víctor Muñoz) Julia Director Víctor Muñoz (WINNER) (Vahagn Stepanyan) The Hope of Victory Submitter Vahagn Stepanyan (Vahagn Stepanyan) No more sorrow Submitter Vahagn Stepanyan

BEST SHORT SCRIPT	BEST HORROR SCRIPT
<b>The loss of innocence Writer Donatella Corrado (WINNER)</b> Pop! Writer Brian Gregory  "Before & After" - By Madison Writer Janice L Walker	The Sicken: Awakening Writer Danny Alex (WINNER)
BEST ROMANCE SCRIPT	BEST LGBTQ SCRIPT
<b>Lustangst unter der Haut Writer Christa Schulte (WINNER)</b> The Day We Met Writer Jason Lim	Lustangst unter der Haut Writer Christa Schulte (WINNER)
BEST ORIGINAL SCRIPT	
<b>The Day We Met Writer Jason Lim (WINNER)</b> Lustangst unter der Haut Writer Christa Schulte	
GRAND JURY AWARDS	HONORABLE MENTIONS
Mr Nullus from Nusquam2 Director Chenjia Ren (Animation)  The Egg Director Zilan Lin (Student Film)  5 Ways to live before you die Director Julio Mendez (Doc Short)  Manufacturing Madness Directors Gary Null, Valerie Van Cleve (Doc Feature)  Pop! Writer Brian Gregory (Short Script)	Bear Hugs Director Maggie May Brummer (Student Film)  The Front Line Director Taekyu Kwon (Animation)  "Her" and Future Hometown Director Kaiqing Yang (Student Director – Short)  (Vahagn Stepanyan) The Hope of Victory Submitter Vahagn Stepanyan (Soundtrack)  A Runaway Boy Directors Reo Takahashi, Daishi Nezu (Drama Film)  "Before & After" - By Madison Writer Janice L Walker (Short Script)  Grey Area Director Jiaying Zhang (Under 5 Min Film)  My sex crazed family Director Darius Dior (Short Film)